Best Creative Writing Exercises, Exercise 1

I’m not really feeling stuck per se, but, I am getting a little bored with my typical writings and I am not recalling my Strange Confessions as much as I’d like. So, I took to the internet and searched for “creative writing exercises” to see if I could find something interesting and fine. I found a few and didn’t like them. I think it was mostly because I saw every exercise. This one that I found, is a slideshow, so I don’t know what is coming up next. How exciting! Anyway, onto the first exercise…


7x7x7x7
Grab the 7th book from your bookshelf. Open it up to page 7. Pinpoint the 7th sentence on the page. Begin a poem that begins with that sentence and limit it in length to 7 lines.

“They say he used to help… oh, undesirables… well, to get out.”
She tensed and glared simply at her own reflection.
Head twisting robotically… eyes kept focused… a millimeter then pause.
Her hope dwindled as nothing else appeared on the cold glass.
“They say he came… beyond the collapsing… of shadow and light.”
Shoulders turning rapidly, her face races to catch up, eyes wide.
Shimmer of orange… twists steel door… bars reflect the window.

Posted on April 25, 2016, in Writing Exercise and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me about it. Tell me everything you feel. Give me any reason to accept that you're for real.

