Utah Promulgation: Oh, The Places I’ve Lived

SLC Map Places I livedOf course, no trip to Utah with friends, would be complete if we didn’t visit the places I have lived. The geography of a place has much influence on the development of who you are, and the places I lived in the valley had more, sometimes, than friends or family. In the 40 years that I lived there, I called home in 12, possibly 13 places. I wouldn’t make them go to all, but there is some neat aspects of the area in all.  (And this is a chance for me to recall all those locales.) Here is a very brief summary of them all.

  1. I was born in a home I didn’t live long. I have seen pictures of myself, wrapped all up and sleeping, with my older brother and sister peeking over the edge of the cradle, that I am told, was in this house. When I was born, this home was the 3rd house in from 1300 East, but with its expansion, now it is on the corner. After several moves, our family will have come full circle back to the same street, but on the other side of 1300 East. No need to visit.
  2. I only lived in the second home until I was 8 years old. There are vague memories of a man who astounded me by knowing my name, friends on the corner, and playing in the dirt of a home that had the first waterbed I knew about. I had a best friend named Steve Shoop that I learned went to Brighton later on, a big hill we would ride our skateboards and bikes down, and a strange recollection of a bridge over a swimming hole. No urgent need to see.
  3. This location, this locale, was the place that I called home from 8 until 21 years old. It was the longest place that I lived. Near the base of Big Cottonwood Canyon and smaller Ferguson Canyon, this helped in my love for hiking and nature in general. The only thing I found hard was the fact that any grand bike ride ended up going home uphill, but it never stopped me from going. We had no one living behind us except the dead, and it was a grand rambler with an unfinished basement save for the single bedroom my dad actually finished. My brother and I had a framed out room, but that was as far as it got since my dad detached himself from the family. I made a few great, enduring friendships up there on the east bench. There was so much to explore; unfinished Ferguson_Canyon_(2)fields, new mansions framed out to walk through, canyons, neighborhoods, cemeteries. This formed my youth and young adulthood. There were hard times, there were great times, and I could always escape to the mountains. I miss them…  [3b. is a brief excursion to Logan, Utah from Autumn ’87 to Spring of ’88. Not long but important period in my history. We obviously wouldn’t visit this due to distance, but it would be fun if only to get ice-cream from the Aggie Dairy.] We would need to visit this house to see the updated trailhead entry for Ferguson Canyon, and also if we went up Big Cottonwood. Must see!
  4. This location is my family’s first apartment experience. It was my Mom and younger sister. I worked retail and stuck with my Mom because I believed she needed me. We had a dog at the time named Tasha, whom we had to give up to other family, (until we moved to #5) because of some stupid decisions on my part. It was a depressing time for all of us, but thankfully, I don’t think it lasted more than a year or so. No need to visit.
  5. Back to Sugarhouse, and the same street I was born. An old home with lots of problems, but a great place to escape after the horrible apartment experience. We got our dog back, I got a couple of new jobs, met my wife while living here and finally moved out, apart from my Mom in 1994. No need to visit unless we’re in the area… which may be possible due to the proximity to Sugarhouse Park.
  6. A bit of a dirty, scary, newly married couple’s apartment. We weren’t there for too long, thankfully, lots of weird goings-on happening there. They had a pool there we wouldn’t go near. No visit, no future thought.
  7. This was another apartment, that apparently was called a condominium. There was a drunk-old man who lived above us who always seemed to be falling down. It was very small, but the owner was a very nice guy who lived in Park City and always responded promptly when we had a problem. Once the drunk guy left his car door open and the keys in it, making the “bing-bing” sound. I took them out and took them up to him. He hardly looked at me, took the keys and closed the door. We lived close to an Italian restaurant that was pretty good, the most famous frozen custard in town, a great little hole-in-the-wall Chinese place, and the house I lived in until I was eight. We did a lot of walking here, and discovered that we were expecting our first baby.
  8. Three days after our first child was born we moved. My aunt and uncle had offered for us to live in the little cottage that was behind their house. They lived in the Avenues: a very eclectic part of Salt Lake City. I loved to walk in this neighborhood, and I especially liked walking our new daughter, who never slept. We’d go to the fountains at LDS hospital, the library up on 9th, all the way up to 13th and down to the cemetery I wrote about a few posts ago, and even occasionally downtown SLC. It was the only time we lived in the actual city of Salt Lake City. We loved it.
  9. To save our aunt and uncle some money, they offered us to move upstairs of their home, while they rented the back cottage out to someone willing to pay more. The upstairs had air conditioning and our own little small kitchen. Our growing daughter loved looking down the high windows and we were good with living above family, but it was a bit uncomfortable, if you know what I mean. Other significant events that occurred while we lived up there was the biggest tornado hit the city on August 11, 1999, and two planes crashed into World Trade Centers. The tornado went only a few blocks away while I was at work and my wife and daughter were napping while my Mom frantically called trying to find out if they were okay. Our aunt and uncle came up during dinner one night to tell us they were selling the house. It sold in three weeks. We might visit this place simply for the reason that there is so much to see in the area.
  10. Apartment time again… We had to give up my wife’s favorite cat and were still sore from our relations selling the home. It was an okay apartment, and we had our second child there. The people below us constantly complained while we tried to live with the noisy people above us. There was a swimming pool that was clean and it seemed like we were the only one who used it. We walked a lot here too. There was a mall and shopping district nearby, a park with the only frisbee golf course in town, and the Catholic elementary school I went to as a child. We’ll probably drive by it, due to the locality near a transitory street.
  11. Our first home! It was what they called a twin home, although I don’t know the difference between a duplex and a twin home still is, and that these twin homes looked not always like the one on the other side. It was a compact busy neighborhood. At one point two loud guys lived next door who played their music late at night, right next to the girls’ room. Our third daughter was born here. It was close to a Home Depot and a Smith’s Marketplace, as well as many different movie theaters. Walking was hard because there was so many busy streets around. Here is where I walked to the bus stop and then the train station for work. It was a good little home, but not necessarily one I would show friends around. I would like to see what they did to a yard.
  12. Our second home and our last in Utah. This one never really felt like home. I now realize that perhaps God was preparing me for a move, in how I felt. It was a very big home that stood all on its own. We could walk to the Salt Lake Community College campus and play and walk our dog. I didn’t really like the neighborhood at all. It was noisy and… something just wasn’t quite right about it. Again, I am interested in what they did with the yard, and really what they did in the house. We were only the second owner of a house that was built in the early ’70s, and I don’t think they did any upgrades since then, and we really couldn’t afford to do anything with it. We had my wife’s Mom and her new husband live with us for a while after they moved from Pennsylvania, only to be estranged with them not much later. Very odd point in our lives. We were close to my wife’s cousin which was about the only bonus I could find. No visit.

And then there was West Plains.

~Mayo

Posted on March 21, 2016, in Utah Promulgation and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me about it. Tell me everything you feel. Give me any reason to accept that you're for real.

Mitch Teemley

The Power of Story

Wretched with Todd Friel

A Really Wretched blog

The Journey

learning to be His

Steven D. Jennings

The nations leading blogger from behind bars! Steven shares his journey towards rehabilitation & redemption. He also exposes the realities of prison life...the good, the bad, and the ugly.

Frank Viola

Copious amount of Words, Substantially Packed in an Unceremonious Format from the Former Stranger.

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Christian Articles, Christian News, Information and Resources. All God centred posts by Godinterest

Tim Challies

Informing the Reforming

Fencing With Ink

Art, Freedom, and Most Holy Irreverence

pointe4Jesus - Blog

Copious amount of Words, Substantially Packed in an Unceremonious Format from the Former Stranger.

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Life After Ministry

Leading Mormons to the REAL Jesus Christ

Irony Is A Poor Master

"where all the cool people learn how to think"

