Facebook Posts Saved for Posterity, Part 1

I’m deleting my Facebook account soon, and am transferring all the stuff I want to keep onto this site. I hate that I trashed or lost so much of what I wrote when I was younger. So this is just some writings and observations that I’d like to keep as I don’t see this blog going away anytime soon.

June 14, 2013 – Facebook is like the Simpsons episode where Martin gets a pool. He says, “More friends! More allies! More, I say. Hang those who talk of less. There’s a few inches over here, ho!” Then his pool bursts open and all his friends drift away. We, like Martin, will have our last shred of dignity ripped from us and we’ll be standing there in all our nakedness, looking at the closing of the day, singing Frank Sinatra’s “Summer Wind”

June 15, 2013 – (This was at a time when I was finding a lot of friends from the past on Facebook, and it was weird that none of them said, “Hey, How’s it going?” or anything of the sort. So I just threw out a general “Hello” from Neil Diamond.) It’s kind of weird to hook up with all my old/new friends and not say anything. So, this goes out to all my old/new friends I’ve hooked up with again. I’m glad to see all y’all again.

July 22, 2013 – (This is from a girl who wished me Happy Birthday and I never want to forget what she said, so I saved this one. To me Facebook Happy Birthday greeting are like birthday cards; they all have to be thrown away sometime. Except this one.) Mr. Mayo! Happy birthday! Thank you for being such an incredible influence in my life! I will always think of you as the leader that loved us- enough to listen to our music, make ridiculous jokes with us, and get down on our level to just be our friend. You are so loved! Have an incredible day! (Still makes me tear up.)

Posted on August 21, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me about it. Tell me everything you feel. Give me any reason to accept that you're for real.

Mitch Teemley

The Power of Story

Wretched with Todd Friel

A Really Wretched blog

The Journey

learning to be His

Steven D. Jennings

The nations leading blogger from behind bars! Steven shares his journey towards rehabilitation & redemption. He also exposes the realities of prison life...the good, the bad, and the ugly.

Frank Viola

Copious amount of Words, Substantially Packed in an Unceremonious Format from the Former Stranger.

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

Tim Challies

Informing the Reforming

Fencing With Ink

Art, Freedom, and Most Holy Irreverence

pointe4Jesus - Blog

Copious amount of Words, Substantially Packed in an Unceremonious Format from the Former Stranger.

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Life After Ministry

Leading Mormons to the REAL Jesus Christ

Irony Is A Poor Master

"where all the cool people learn how to think"

