Some Small Updates

Since hardly anyone reads my posts on That One Site anyway, here are some things to fill you in…

Did you know that oxymoron is an oxymoron? Oxy means sharp and moron means dull. I heard my youngest daughter telling my oldest this the other day.

We must remember that character is not seen in the moment, but revealed over a lifetime. I said this in response to a report on the navy yard shootings. It amazes me every time they interview friends or family of a crazy man who just killed a bunch of people, that they say they never saw anything like this coming. But, then the report goes on telling all the crimes, misdemeanors or character flaws this person has a history of committing.

I have a huge, new burn pile out in the yard, eagerly awaiting the torch. I started throwing branches, cutting and other burning type waste this last spring into an overgrown area in our yard. This last weekend I cleared away a six-foot area surrounding this monstrosity in preparation to contribute to the burning stuff smell that permeates this city and it’s surroundings over the fall season. I might wait until our best friends come for a visit from Kansas City, before I set flame to pile.

This week marks our former church’s effort at its traditional fall revival. Last year I was a counselor for people who wanted to “make a decision”. It was interesting to me that the people I talked to had previously been “saved”, sometimes more than once. On That One Site, people are posting how great it is to see all these kids being saved. Me, in my pessimism, say to myself, “Yeah, for the fifth time.”

I enjoyed watching the Person of Interest, season premier last night. It wasn’t the BLAST I was hoping for, but it was a great set-up for what is to come. I particularly enjoy the whole idea of an A.I. developing in the “real” world. Most A.I. fiction I’ve seen or read, deals with a far future scenario. In this day and age of so many shows and channels for people to watch, I have very much limited myself. I stick with a little Food Network, a little bit of cartoons, a little Seinfeld reruns, some Jeopardy!, and, always Person of Interest. This season marks a difficulty, in that it is now Tuesday night at 9pm. Our bible/fellowship group meets on Tuesday, and we never want to seem eager to get them out in time, but for goodness sake get out! No, we’d never, ever tell them that. POI is never as important as fellowship with other believers and the encouragement and love that lies therein, but, wow, this is going to be difficult. And we don’t have a DVR either.

I may have decided what I want to speak about Sunday morning in conjunction with giving my testimony. I want to talk about: taking action, and how it relates to a previous post regarding extreme Calvinism. I have to find some verses, but I also want to share this song:

This song drives me, gives me strength and courage, makes me excited to go work for God. But, I need some bible verses too.

At work today, we changed around the whole mailroom, and moved some shelves and pallets of envelopes around. One of my workers was absent and he is, how shall I say it, a little whiny, girly man, when it comes to not being involved in stuff like that. If we asked him about what we should do, he says, “No, that won’t work.” You know, always the negative type. Things never work unless he thought of it. I’m looking forward to tomorrow, well, maybe not really. It’s a downer to hear someone mumble and grumble all day long.

How about that movie, “Gravity”? Huh? I think it looks very good, I’m pretty excited to see this one. Alfonso Cuarón directed my favorite Harry Potter installment. Although I couldn’t make it through “Children of Men”. Here is the preview for those who haven’t heard of it:

My mom bought us a new laptop today. The one we just bought about a month ago, doesn’t have a CD/DVD drive, and our 12-year-old computer died shortly after we got the new one. My mom called me a few days ago, and I don’t know how we got on the subject, but I was telling her we were probably going to buy a new one for Christmas. It was going to be for our oldest, because she has algebra tutoring CDs that she now can’t use, and today she cried over her math. She told us that she gets to buy things for her kids close to her every once in a while and she wanted to do this for us. So, we went and bought one today, and she is sending a reimbursement check. I love my mom and miss her dearly. Not because of the computer, but because of a lifetime.

~Stranger

Posted on September 25, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Too much to comment on, so I’ll stick with just a few:

    Yeah, Mr. Stranger, you’d better wait for the Big Burn until those KC friends come! Only a few more weeks. And they’re bringing POI Season 2. Oh.yeah.POI-a-thon.

    New laptop = awesome! Also, if has the eldest daughter ever used Khan Academy for math disambiguation? I hear it’s helpful for sciences and math, although we’re not quite there yet.

  2. Yahoo! Bring on the POI marathon. Are they going to be staying like a week, I wonder. I guess the Big Burn will have wait.

  3. They’re staying just as long as they can . . . which, according to their children, will in no way be long enough.

Tell me about it. Tell me everything you feel. Give me any reason to accept that you're for real.

Mitch Teemley

The Power of Story

Wretched with Todd Friel

A Really Wretched blog

The Journey

learning to be His

Steven D. Jennings

The nations leading blogger from behind bars! Steven shares his journey towards rehabilitation & redemption. He also exposes the realities of prison life...the good, the bad, and the ugly.

Frank Viola

Copious amount of Words, Substantially Packed in an Unceremonious Format from the Former Stranger.

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Christian Articles, Christian News, Information and Resources. All God centred posts by Godinterest

Tim Challies

Informing the Reforming

Fencing With Ink

Art, Freedom, and Most Holy Irreverence

pointe4Jesus - Blog

Copious amount of Words, Substantially Packed in an Unceremonious Format from the Former Stranger.

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Life After Ministry

Leading Mormons to the REAL Jesus Christ

Irony Is A Poor Master

"where all the cool people learn how to think"

