Strange Fiction: The Interview

“What is your name?”

“Kaitlyn.”

“Do you know your last name?”

“Yes I do. Do you?”

“Do I what?”

“Know yours, silly.”

“Yes I know my name. But I’d like you to answer the questions though.”

“My name is Kaitlyn Unger, Mr. Anton.”

“So, you know my name then.”

Laughter.

“How old are you?”

“Seven.”

“And do you know the name and age of the girl with you?”

“Duh,” she rolls her eyes, “She is my sister. She is four years old and her name is Rylee.”

“How did you end up outside the facility?”

“My mom said to go out to play.”

“What is your mother’s name?”

“Mom-ma.”

“Do you know her name?”

Hesitation. “Barbara.”

“Have you noticed anything unusual that happened to you lately?”

“Like what?”

“Oh, I don’t know. Maybe bright lights from nowhere, or strange sounds…”

“Do bright lights usually come from nowhere?”

“No, there is usually always a source. Did you notice lights?”

“Nope. Just the sun was out. That’s not… unusual, is it?”

“No, the sun comes out everyday. So nothing out of the ordinary that you remember?”

“Nope. Nothing.”

“Did someone do anything… strange then?”

“What does that mean? You mean like breathe fire or something?”

“No. I mean like,,, um… tell you to do something you didn’t want to do, or put you somewhere you didn’t want to go?”

“No. Every day it’s the same thing.”

“What do you mean?”

“I mean we are sent outside to play, then you bring us in here and ask us all these questions.”

“Everyday? You mean we’ve done this before?”

“Duh! We did this yesterday. And the day before that, and afore that, and that, and there and such.”

“You mean you feel like you do this everyday?”

“No. I mean…” deep sigh, “we do this everyday.”

“Okay. How long have you been doing this?”

“For like ever.”

“Like, how many days?”

“Like… um… fifty-ten.”

“When was the last time you did something different?”

“We never do anything else.”

“What do you mean?”

“I mean, Mom comes and gets us out of the room and makes us go play outside. Then we come in here with you.”

“What else do you do?”

Sighs, “Nooooooothing!”

“Okay. When is your birthday?”

“September… the… a… seventeen.”

“And you had a birthday party, right.”

“I guess.”

“You don’t remember.”

“I think I did.”

“What did you do on your birthday?”

“Ate cake.”

“What kind of cake?”

“The kind you eat… duh!”

“Okay. But what did you do?”

“Birthday party stuff and stuff.”

“What kind of stuff?”

“You know. Eating, and playing, and running and stuff.”

“Right. Tell me something specific you did.”

“What is pacific, um… skapific?”

“I mean, tell me exactly what you did on your birthday.”

Rolls eyes, sighs, “I told ya’. We ate cake and ran.”

“Okay, alright.” Rubs the bridge of his nose. “Tell me what else you do.”

“I’m hungry. Can I eat something?”

“In a minute. We’ll eat when we’re done. Do you remember anything else? Like do you go to school?”

“No. Why do you ask me if I go to school. I don’t go to public school.”

“You don’t go to public school?”

“No.”

“Then how do you learn?”

“Like, with school books and stuff.”

“Do you learn at home?”

“No.”

Rubbing the bridge of his nose, “Okay. Where do you read these school books and stuff.”

“I think maybe here.”

“Maybe here?”

“I think so.”

“Okay, since you’ve done this before. What comes next?”

“Umm… We eat!”

“What do we eat?”

“Whatever we want!”

“Okay. What did you eat yesterday?”

“Um… I think we had a peanut butter and bread. There isn’t a lot to choose from. It’s always the same thing to choose from.”

“Oh yes, always the same. I got it. Then what do you do?”

“Then we talk some more with other people here, and then we go into one cool room after another. And, questions, always questions.”

“What about?”

“How did you get here? Who are you? Who are we? Blah, blah, blah…”

“Hmmm… Do you know what we do here?”

“Sciencey things.”

“Have you ever been to any of the labs.”

“Hello? Like every day!”

“What about lab 19?”

“I don’t know… what’s in lab 19?”

“Well, it’s very large, and very tall, and it has a machine in the middle. It’s kept dark in there, and there are no windows.”

“I don’t think so. Can we go there now? I mean, after we eat?”

“Maybe, but we need to get a few more questions answered before we do. Let’s go get something to eat.”

“Okay! Do you think we can have something different today? Like maybe… some oranges?”

“I don’t know. You know your way around the pantry, right?”

Disappointed. “Yeah, I do. Always the same.”

“Well, we’ll see if we can’t change that. Let’s go.”

 

(This fictional account came from a dream I had the other night. I am trying to see how I can develop it further. Maybe this is it, or maybe it’ll get more broad.)

~Stranger

Posted on August 31, 2013, in Strange Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hmm, Groundhog day meets cloned little girls and AI caretaker robots with a programming bug…

  2. Hmm… Interesting assessment, but I’m still figuring it out. The next installment will be called “The Discussion”.

  1. Pingback: Strange Fiction: The Discussion | Stranger in Rebellion

Tell me about it. Tell me everything you feel. Give me any reason to accept that you're for real.

Mitch Teemley

The Power of Story

Wretched with Todd Friel

A Really Wretched blog

The Journey

learning to be His

Steven D. Jennings

The nations leading blogger from behind bars! Steven shares his journey towards rehabilitation & redemption. He also exposes the realities of prison life...the good, the bad, and the ugly.

Frank Viola

Copious amount of Words, Substantially Packed in an Unceremonious Format from the Former Stranger.

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Christian Articles, Christian News, Information and Resources. All God centred posts by Godinterest

Tim Challies

Informing the Reforming

Fencing With Ink

Art, Freedom, and Most Holy Irreverence

pointe4Jesus - Blog

Copious amount of Words, Substantially Packed in an Unceremonious Format from the Former Stranger.

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Life After Ministry

Leading Mormons to the REAL Jesus Christ

Irony Is A Poor Master

"where all the cool people learn how to think"

