A Brief Musical Interlude or Teach an Old Man Some New Tricks

So, I am a 44-year-old Christian man, happily married for 19 years, with three daughters. So you’d think my musical tastes would range in the area of concrete: set for life. Or, if somewhat transitional, I’d like some of the new stuff on your local K-LOVE station, but keep me with the old and reliable. Yes?

No.

That would not be the case. In fact I am looking for some new stuff that can make a home in my music collection. See what I like, what my history is, and make some recommendations if you like.

My first presentation is a band I came across several years ago. It is a psy-trance band from Israel named Infected Mushroom. This song is an amazing mix of latin guitar, techno, trance, and heavy metal. Enjoy, “Becoming Insane”.

My most recent discovery came from a young friend on, that one site. It is a band called Steam Powered Giraffe. They use makeup to look like robots and are a part of the new cultural scene called “Steampunk” These guys incorporate harmonies and stories set to classic twenties rhythms and modern techno dance. They also incorporate pantomime into their live shows. It’s something you can listen to with the whole family. My current favorite song is “Captain Albert Alexander” because my daughters love this song and make up additional lyrics to it. Here is three offerings from them. First up is the aforementioned song that is a good intro to them. So if you hate it, you can lump it. But, listen to the song, close your eyes if it gets to scary like.

The second is a bit more mellow, but still the performance just makes you fall in love with them. Here is “Honeybee”.

You also have to check out the very first video I ever saw of them. “Fire Fire”

The next band is one of the gateway bands that introduced me to futurepop, ebm, and psy-trance. My friend, JR, who owned a black metal record store, showed me this band. He knew I wasn’t much into what he liked. So he figured I might like them. Here are three songs from one of my favorites, Apoptygma Berzerk.

Something older: “Unicorn”

Their most remixed: “Kathy’s Song”

And some of their slightly newer stuff: “Asleep or Awake?”

Now we get to some of the Christian stuff I like. I’ve always liked the Newsboys and when Michael Tait took over as lead singer, they lost the fun, the lyrics, the dance that made me like them so much. But then, their former lead singer put out a solo album. He is being played on your KLOVE station, but like always with that station, they play it over and over and it’s not even the best one. I mean c’mon! Here is “All In Your Head”. It is one awesome song that makes you want to get up, get off your seat, move your feet and do what He said.

And he does a great techno “Psalm 23”.

So. There is a sampling of what I am currently into. I grew up with trends liking, in order, the Beatles, Rainbow, Dio, Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Metallica, The Police, U2, Talking Heads, M.A.R.R.S., Robert Plant, R.E.M., They Might Be Giants, and then it just got all ecclectical: The Thrills, Ace of Base, America, Electric Light Orchestra, Ween, Bread, The Cranberries, Covenant, Daft Punk, Depeche Mode, Drive-By Truckers, Stevie Ray Vaughn, Gnarls Barkley, Jars of Clay, Juno Reactor, Ladytron, MGMT, Earthsuit, Orbital, Seabound.

There. I like to move, don’t like much of the harsh metal/goth or rap singers. I don’t like too dark and doom like. As long as it’s got a good beat and has memorable lyrics, with a good hook to it, I’m in. The band Tool, is the total opposite of what I like. The newer the better. Thanks.

~Stranger

Posted on August 2, 2013, in Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me about it. Tell me everything you feel. Give me any reason to accept that you're for real.

Mitch Teemley

The Power of Story

Wretched with Todd Friel

A Really Wretched blog

The Journey

learning to be His

Steven D. Jennings

The nations leading blogger from behind bars! Steven shares his journey towards rehabilitation & redemption. He also exposes the realities of prison life...the good, the bad, and the ugly.

Frank Viola

Copious amount of Words, Substantially Packed in an Unceremonious Format from the Former Stranger.

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Christian Articles, Christian News, Information and Resources. All God centred posts by Godinterest

Tim Challies

Informing the Reforming

Fencing With Ink

Art, Freedom, and Most Holy Irreverence

pointe4Jesus - Blog

Copious amount of Words, Substantially Packed in an Unceremonious Format from the Former Stranger.

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Life After Ministry

Leading Mormons to the REAL Jesus Christ

Irony Is A Poor Master

"where all the cool people learn how to think"

